call 01429 295000

Main menu


You are here

Celebration of Achievement 2019

Overall Student of the Year 2019: Gemma McIver, pictured here with Aidan Mullen (Chair of Board of Governers), left) and Darren Hankey (Principal, Hartlepool College of Further Education, right)

The College’s top-performing students were recognised at a glittering awards evening. The College's 26th annual Celebration of Achievement awards ceremony hosted here at the College on Thursday, November 21st, with a total of 43 students being nominated and 21 overall award winners as well as celebrating 50 years of providing education and training to Hartlepool at our Stockton Street campus.

The main award of the evening, Student of the Year 2019, went to Gemma McIver, who earlier in the evening also scooped the Access to HE Student of the Year Award. The double-award winning Gemma was recognised for her outstanding academic and practical performance.  She achieved the Access to Health programme with a distinction grade profile on the back of an outstanding attendance record.  She has now progressed to Teesside University to follow an Adult Nursing degree. 

Performing Arts Students singing at Celebration of Acheivement 2019

For the first time, the COA audience were treated to a performance by our new Performing Arts students, who sang two songs to great applause and appreciation. 

A big thank you to our sponsors for the evening, who made the event possible: Gus Robinson FoundationOne AwardsUnited Carlton,  Shine Trust, NHS North Tees and Hartlepool Foundation TrustSeymour Civil Engineering, Orange Box Training  Just Williams, Bespoke FInancial, Teesside University and Simpson Coulson Consulting.

Full list of award winners:

Student of the Year ~ Professional & Creative StudiesJoseph FranklinJust Williams
Student of the Year ~ Construction and Building ServicesLuke BellSeymours Civil Engineering
Student of the Year ~ English & MathsTyler MileyShine Trust
Student of the Year ~ Fabrication, Welding & Automotive Jacob KidsonSimpson Coulson
Student of the Year ~ Education Eve GoodingTeesside University
Student of the Year ~ Service IndustriesRebecca RichardsonHartlepool College
Student of the Year ~ Sport & Public Services Chandler WilsonOrange Box Training
Student of the Year ~ Access to Higher Education Gemma McIverOne Awards
Inclusive Learner of the YearConnor AllisonBespoke Financial
The Michael Bretherick Engineer of the Year Award Molly ShadforthGus Robinson Foundation
Gus Robinson Foundation Sporting Achievement AwardBen ThackerGus Robinson Foundation
Gus Robinson Foundation Apprentice of the YearCalum MeasorGus Robinson Foundation
Gus Robinson Foundation Aerospace Cadetship AwardedDaniel Brazukas & Dylan GrazierGus Robinson Foundation
Gus Robinson Foundation Best Project PresentationRobert FodorGus Robinson Foundation
The Jaap Kroese ScholarshipSam MayesGus Robinson Foundation
The Russell Hart Award for Health & CareMegan TaylorNHS North Tees & Hartlepool Trust
The Ray Waller ScholarshipKieran DunningHartlepool College
Student Representative of the Year Chloe HarperUnited Carlton
Board of Governors Special Award Hartlepool College 
Overall Student of the Year 2018Gemma McIverHartlepool College

View, Share or download - 120 Photos from the event here >>
19+ Adult
19+ adult
Higher Education
higher education
Employers & parents
employers & parents