call 01429 295000

Main menu


You are here

Celebrating our brilliant students...

Student of the Year 2016 - Charlotte Bell with her parents at our Annual Celebration of Achievement Awards (Nov 24, 2016)

Hard working students have been rewarded for their efforts at a glittering awards ceremony held at Hartlepool College of Further Education. The annual Celebration of Achievement awards night took place at the College on Thursday, November 24, with a total of 16 honours handed out to youngsters who have excelled over the last academic year.

The main award of the evening, Student of the Year, went to Charlotte Bell, who was earlier named as the Apprentice of the Year in recognition of the work she has done for her employer, engineering firm Gestamp Tallent. Charlotte was presented with her award by Michael Bretherick on behalf of the Gus Robinson Foundation, which sponsored the category.

Hartlepool boxer Savannah Marshall, who represented Team GB in both the London 2012 and Rio 2016 Olympics, landed the Sporting Achievement honour in recognition of her efforts. Bryan Whitelock was the main award winner in the Academic & Professional Studies section, sponsored by One Awards, while Robyn Hart won the Design, Media & IT category, which was sponsored by Kingfield Developments.Andrew Smailes picked up the Building Services category, sponsored by Seymour Civil Engineering, while the Engineering Project of the Year trophy went to Luke Reeves in a category also sponsored by the Gus Robinson Foundation.

Master of Ceromonies - Andy Steel (Assistant Principal) at our Celebration of Achievement 2016

In addition, the Foundation sponsored the Jaap Kroese and Aerospace Cadetship awards, which were won by Shaun Westmoreland, Liam Elliott/Matthew Cunnington (joint winners), while Sapphire Heselton was named the winner of the Michael Bretherick Engineering Award, titled for the former principal of Hartlepool College, who also sponsored that category. The Fabrication and Welding category, sponsored by Heerema, was won by Jessica Hough, with Amy Pattison landing the Hospitality Catering, Hair & Beauty award which was backed by Russums.Jodey Chapman was the top performer in the Health & Care sector, winning a trophy sponsored by Teesside University, while the Sport & Public Services category, sponsored by Publicity Seekers, was won by Alex Byron. Amy Thompson won the Ray Waller Scholarship, the Russell Hart Award went to Faye Bradley and the Student Ambassador of the Year, sponsored by United Carlton, was won by Jake Kinnell.

Darren Hankey, Principal of Hartlepool College of Further Education, said: “It has been another fantastic year at the College, with some excellent performances from students across all our different facilities. “We are proud of the work we do and the brilliant relationships we have with the companies we work alongside. It’s great that this is nationally recognised by the fact we are rated as the top provider of apprenticeships in the North of England and the second best in the entire country. The difficulty for us as a College when you receive such a precious accolade, is of course pin-pointing the individuals that have really shone through, in such a large group of high achieving students. Everyone who has received an award is a very worthy winner, and their families should be extremely proud of the standards they have reached. My congratulations go to them, and the students who were shortlisted alongside them, as well as all of the companies who kindly sponsored the categories and support our students all throughout the year.”

19+ Adult
19+ adult
Higher Education
higher education
Employers & parents
employers & parents