call 01429 295000

Main menu


You are here

Elle is Changing Futures on her way to scooping Student of the Year

Elle Lawrence - HCFE Student of the Year 2017 with Darren Hankey (Principal HCFE)

Family support worker and high achieving apprentice, Elle Lawrence, was crowned the college’s Student of the Year 2017 at the 24th annual Celebration of Achievement. The Changing Futures North East employee has impressed at all stages of her apprenticeship not only academically but also in the glowing reports from her employee as she continues to change lives with the North East charity making her nomination stand out over others to the awarding committee.

Elle picked up the evenings major award after first scooping the category award from the School of Health and Care, kindly sponsored by Hart Biologicals. The 200 strong crowd of staff, students, employers and guests were in awe of the achievements of category award winners. Debra Harrison picked up the Academic and Professional Studies award from sponsors One Awards. Jack Ainscough was awarded the Construction and Building Services award, presented by Seymour Civil Engineering and Phil Handley, Managing Director of Caterpillar, presented Stephen Green with the Fabrication student of the year. In the school of Art and Design, Ryan Corner picked up the main award with support from sponsors Kingfield Developments. The Hospitality, Catering, Hair and Beauty award was presented by, Head of School, Paula McKenzie to Emily Pattinson. Christine Turnbull, the winner of the English and Maths award, sponsored by Utility Alliance, was, unfortunately, unable to attend as she now uses the knowledge and qualifications she gained to teach English to young children in Cambodia. Olivia Dawkins picked up the Sport, Public Services, Travel and Tourism award from CFB Risk Management whilst the popular, Thomas Black, was received the Student Ambassador of the year award, kindly sponsored by United Carlton.

Former principal and current Chief Executive of the Gus Robinson Foundation, Michael Bretherick, took to the stage to present the Engineering of the year award that is named in his honour to Catherine Lollis. The Gus Robinson Foundation sponsored awards for sporting excellence; aerospace cadetships, apprentice and engineering project of the year were awarded to Shahban Mohammed, Chloe Ingham, James Allison, Christopher Davis and Michael Rollinson, respectively.

Chair of Governors, Professor Aidan Mullan then had the honour of presenting two special awards to Nathan Morley, who picked up the Ray Waller award and Kiara Pichay, who was awarded the Russel Hart award for her achievements in the health and care industry before announcing Elle Lawrence as the overall student of the year.

Darren Hankey and Andy Steel - COA 2017

Principal and Chief Executive of the college, Darren Hankey, reflected “Another amazing night that demonstrates the hard work of the staff and students at this college. We believe, strongly, that education changes lives and in the stories of our nominees, it is clear that is happening. These successes are not achieved in isolation. I would like to thank the wonderful staff at this college, the families and friends of our students and the companies that support us not just on evenings like this but throughout the year for inspiring our students to succeed.”

View and download all the photos from the event here >>
19+ Adult
19+ adult
Higher Education
higher education
Employers & parents
employers & parents